

# San Mateo County Measure K Oversight Committee Thursday, November 29, 2018, 6:30 p.m.

College of San Mateo, College Heights Conference Room, Building 10, Room 468 1700 West Hillsdale Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402

# **FINAL MINUTES**

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Honorable Sam Hutkins at 6:32 p.m.

#### Present:

Commissioners: Dan Quigg, Michael Salazar, Ken Chin, David Burow, Michael Kovalich, Manuel Ramirez, Tom Ledda, Tinisch Hollins and Honorable Sam Hutkins.

Staff: Roberto Manchia, Budget Director; Melissa Andrikopoulos, Deputy County Counsel; Sukhmani S. Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board; and Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board.

## Absent:

Commissioner Naomi Patridge.

4. Swearing-in and Oath of Office for Tinisch Hollins

Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board, performed the oath of office.

5. Public Comment

(This item is reserved for persons wishing to address the Committee on any Committee-related matters not otherwise on this agenda, and on any listed agenda items other than those Matters Set for a Specified Time or on the Regular Agenda. Members of the public who wish to address the Committee should complete a speaker request form. Speakers are customarily limited to two minutes.)

None

6. Motion to Approve Minutes of the Meeting of February 8, 2018

<u>Speakers:</u> Chair Sam Hutkins, District 2

<b>RESULT:</b>	Approved
<b>MOTION:</b>	Tom Ledda
SECOND:	Dan Quigg

AYES [9]:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, Hollins, and Hutkins.
NOES:	None
ABSENT [1]:	Patridge
<b>ABSTAIN:</b>	None

- 7. Presentation of 2017-18 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending
  - 7.1 Motion to Accept 2017-18 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending

### Speakers:

Chair Sam Hutkins, District 2 Juan Raigoza, Controller Michael Kovalich, District 4 Dan Quigg, District 1 Roberto Manchia, Budget Director David Burow, District 3

<b>RESULT:</b>	Approved
<b>MOTION:</b>	Dan Quigg
<b>SECOND:</b>	Manuel Ramirez
AYES [9]:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, Hollins, and Hutkins.
NOES:	None
ABSENT [1]:	Patridge
<b>ABSTAIN:</b>	None

3. Welcome and Introductions, Review of Committee Bylaws

#### Speakers:

Roberto Manchia, Budget Director Melissa Andrikopoulos, Deputy County Counsel Dan Quigg, District 1 Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board David Burow, District 3 Ken Chin, District 2

8. Presentation of 2017-18 Performance Report and Budget and Performance Monitoring Table

#### Speakers:

Chair Sam Hutkins, District 2 Roberto Manchia, Budget Director Dan Quigg, District 1 David Burow, District 3 Manuel Ramirez, District 4 Michael Kovalich, District 4 Tinisch Hollins, District 5 Tom Ledda, District 5 Paul Okada, Chief Deputy County Counsel

Commissioner Dan Quigg made the motion to accept the 2017-18 Performance Report; however, the motion was retracted since no action was needed.

8.1 Motion to Create Ad Hoc Committee on Performance Measures

<b>RESULT:</b>	Approved
<b>MOTION:</b>	David Burow
SECOND:	Tom Ledda
AYES [9]:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, Hollins, and Hutkins.
NOES:	None
ABSENT [1]:	Patridge
<b>ABSTAIN:</b>	None

- Commissioners Daniel Quigg, District 1; Michael Salazar, District 1; and Michael Kovalich, District 4 were appointed to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee.
- 9. Presentation of Measure K Education and Outreach Efforts

#### Speakers: Marshall Wilson Con

Marshall Wilson, Communications Officer Dan Quigg, District 1

10. Motion to Approve 2018-19 Committee Work Plan

**Speakers:** Chair Sam Hutkins, District 2

<b>RESULT:</b>	Approved
<b>MOTION:</b>	Michael Salazar
SECOND:	Ken Chin
AYES [9]:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, Hollins, and Hutkins.
NOES:	None
ABSENT [1]:	Patridge
<b>ABSTAIN:</b>	None

Item No. 11 was originally not listed on the published agenda.

12. Set Date of Next Committee Meetings

County Staff will email the commissioners to confirm the next meeting date.

# 13. Adjourn

<b>RESULT:</b>	Approved
<b>MOTION:</b>	Michael Salazar
SECOND:	Tom Ledda
AYES [9]:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, Hollins, and Hutkins.
NOES:	None
ABSENT [1]:	Patridge
<b>ABSTAIN:</b>	None

## The meeting was adjourned at 7:54 p.m.